National Safety Council Elects Seven New Members to its Board of Directors

07:14 EDT 19 Oct 2016 | PR Newswire

ANAHEIM, Calif., Oct. 19, 2016 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The National Safety Council welcomed seven new members to its Board of Directors at its annual meeting, held this week in Anaheim during the annual NSC Congress & Expo. The seven safety leaders accepting two-year terms are:

  • Elaine S. Beitler, CEO, BROWZ, LLC
  • John J. Dreyzehner, M.D., M.P.H., F.A.C.O.E.M, commissioner, Tennessee Department of Health
  • Roberta Kloda, Ph.D., manager of Environmental Health and Safety, FMC Agricultural Solutions
  • David Koeneke, executive director, Oklahoma Safety Council
  • Jim S. Kreinbrink, CSP, CIC, division vice president of Risk Control Services, Liberty Mutual
  • Anne McCartt, Ph.D., senior vice president of research, Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (retired)
  • Peter Sullivan, CSP, CET, manager, Accenture Consulting

"Our new members are safety leaders, passionate advocates and among the most dedicated professionals in the industry today," said Deborah A.P. Hersman, president and CEO of the National Safety Council. "I look forward to working with them to advance our mission of ending preventable deaths in our lifetime."

Elaine Beitler serves as CEO of BROWZ, LLC. BROWZ implements supply chain prequalification and compliance programs for its corporate clients. Prior to joining BROWZ, Ms. Beitler held positions as chief information officer, senior vice president and president of Manufacturing & Business Integration of Bowne & Co. Inc. Ms. Beitler also served as general manager of Bowne Enterprise Solutions and senior vice president of Client Services and Operations of Bowne Enterprise Solutions.

John Dreyzehner began his medical service in 1989 as a United States Air Force flight surgeon and later, Chief of Aeromedical Assessment for Air Combat Command. He was honorably discharged as a major in 1997.  In 2002, he became director of a multi-county health district in the Tri-cities region of central Appalachia before becoming Tennessee Commissioner of Health.  Residency-trained in occupational medicine and board certified in 1999, Dr. Dreyzehner is a Fellow of the American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine and he also practiced in the field of addiction medicine for several years.

Roberta Kloda joined FMC Agricultural Solutions in April. She oversees and develops strategic safety plans, creates safety and health programs and manages environmental requirements and waste reduction projects. Ms. Kloda previously served as senior manager of Safety and Environment at Aurubis Buffalo, Inc., where her efforts led to a 22 percent reduction rate of OSHA recordable incidents. Ms. Kloda represents the Business and Industry Division on the Board of Directors.

David Koeneke has held various jobs in the occupational medicine and workers' compensation areas of operations and marketing. Mr. Koeneke leads the Oklahoma Safety Council, which promotes the adoption of safety, health, and environmental practices and procedures that prevent and mitigate human suffering and economic loss. Mr. Koeneke represents NSC Chapters on the Board of Directors.

Jim S. Kreinbrink has held several management, service management and technical positions within the Business Market, National Market and Commercial Markets Loss Prevention Departments at Liberty Mutual. Mr. Kreinbrink was responsible for the principal development, integration and implementation of the current National Market customer service model. He was instrumental in the development of Liberty Mutual's current organization, service model and product service strategy. 

Anne McCartt worked in the highway safety field for more than 25 years. She has authored more than 150 technical reports and scientific papers in such areas as distracted driving, alcohol-impaired driving, large truck safety, young drivers, side airbag effectiveness and occupant restraints. She was president of the Association for the Advancement of Automotive Medicine and has served on numerous expert committees.

Peter Sullivan has more than 16 years of operational and training management experience, is a Certified Safety Professional (CSP) and Certified EHS Trainer (CET). Pete is a manager within Accenture Consulting aligned to the Resources Asset and Operations Services-Plant Practice. He represents the Young Professionals Division on the Board of Directors.

About the National Safety Council Founded in 1913 and chartered by Congress, the National Safety Council,, is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to save lives by preventing injuries and deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the road through leadership, research, education and advocacy. NSC advances this mission by partnering with businesses, government agencies, elected officials and the public in areas where we can make the most impact – distracted driving, teen driving, workplace safety, prescription drug overdoses and Safe Communities. Safety+Health magazine, the Council's flagship publication, is a leading source of occupational safety and health information.

Connect with NSC:

Logo -

To view the original version on PR Newswire, visit:

SOURCE National Safety Council


More From BioPortfolio on "National Safety Council Elects Seven New Members to its Board of Directors"

Quick Search

Relevant Topic

Public Health
Alternative Medicine Cleft Palate Complementary & Alternative Medicine Congenital Diseases Dentistry Ear Nose & Throat Food Safety Geriatrics Healthcare Hearing Medical Devices MRSA Muscular Dyst...